An INFJ gets totally side-tracked:

I think it is to some degree normal to become highly introspective at night, perhaps at least in comparison to the rest of the day.

Tonight I can’t sleep again, but thankfully this time it is not because of haunting, jeering thoughts that snap around like rubber bands in my head. That kind of insomnia was horrible and followed me for the better chunk of the last fall semester… No, thankfully I don’t experience that anymore. Tonight, I’m just not tired.

Enter introspective thoughts: I’m an INFJ according to the Myers Briggs (personality) Type Indicator. I’m majoring in psychology and have always had a weak spot for even the fluffiest of personality quizzes, so this Myers Briggs test – a psychologically supported personality quiz – is, like, crack for me.

Furthermore, when I studied up on what INFJ’s are all about (how they think, feel, function, etc.), I was completely blown away by how accurate it all was. I mean absolutely on the nose. And mind you, I can tell when these tests are a load of crap (but like juicy crap..?)

tarsier
(Me)
dog
(Not me)

For example: Buzzfeed, I’m sorry, I’m just not a dog. Fox? I could see that. Tarsier? Maybe even more so, but I’m not a dog.

I digress.

But for the sake of your own self-love and personal validation, I implore you to take this test. There is a free version online if you google “16 personalities”, or, wait…what am I doing? I’m a millennial; I can just do it for you. Look, here’s a link: dooo ittt. (Also this is definitely not a paid promotion thing. I have like 2 followers lol. I really just care.)

Eeesh, wow this post has taken such a detour. I seem to have ditched my thesis statement before I could even get to the bit where I was going to state it. I promise my writing isn’t usually this bad.

You see, what was once going to be a release of my introspective thoughts about INFJ’s and what that means and all of that jazz, has turnedย  quickly into a plea (essentially) for you to take this life altering incredibly validating, positive step in the direction of knowing and loving and understanding yourself better – or perhaps if you already understand yourself well, better communicating about yourself to others – quiz.. (Do a word count of that last sentence, add a point for every time it meandered, and then add it up. That is how much I wish people would learn more about themselves.)

Because this post was frighteningly disjointed and incoherent (or maybe that’s just how it feels in my head?), I’m just gonna go ahead and preemptively apologize. However, I am excited to explore more about these different personality types, as well as my own INFJ type. There’s at least one more post about this that you’re bound to see at some point, since that was what this post was originally going to be about (again, my bad). I’m just gonna slam my head on the keyboard now and try to sleep off these scatterbrained last few minutes. I’m always interested in what people have to say about these things though, so let me know if you have any thoughts about your personality type, and holler at me if you’re an INFJ too!

Haha, alright y’all. Goodnight ๐Ÿ™‚

Save

Leave a Reply

