This might not be worth mentioning, but:

I have recently developed a passion for video production! Of course, it is very low key, since I have no professional training in the field, or equipment, or cool editing software, or help, or props … lol … but it is still so much fun!!

Ever since I can remember, I have been maybe what you could call hyper-imaginative. When I hear things, I normally also see some kind of image in my head. And when I see things, I usually mentally superimpose some kind of soundtrack or voice-over. It’s kind of weird, but one day I decided to give those quirky bits of me a moment to shine.

It started with the song “Breezeblocks” by Alt-J. I had a very emotional connection with that song, so the images that flooded my head were even more overwhelming. I had to get it out of my head – more out of peace of mind than exploring a new hobby – so I grabbed my old camera and went at it.

The end product was kind of weird, like me, and it was incredibly satisfying. I could finally see the physical product of what my mind had been playing on loop in my head.

See the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRjVChYm158

So far, I have made two other videos since then. They both come from the same “I’m going to go crazy if I don’t get this out of me” mentality, but I’ve really enjoyed both the process and the product so far. Unfortunately, one was taken down because I used a song that wasn’t on Youtube’s approved list, so that’s a bummer that I can’t share it…but more will come, I am sure!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy my style of video-production-slash-story-telling (if you choose to watch it). I try to pack it full of symbolism and leave as many possibilities for interpretation as possible. My goal is always to give a visual representation of how a sound feels, and at least for me, I feel it has been pretty accurate. I’m hoping to get better and better with each video, but for now, I’m just enjoying this new little hobby.

Leave a Reply

